关于珍珠港

亲身探索珍珠港了解其真正的含义

早期的珍珠港被夏威夷人称为 Pu'uloa,意思是“绵延的山丘”,也被称为 Wai Momi,字意是“盛产珍珠之水”,在它的保护海域内曾经生活着丰富的珍珠蚌壳, 因此而得名 - 珍珠港。珍珠港是夏威夷州最大的天然良港和瓦胡岛的头号旅游景区。

今天,珍珠港仍然是一个活跃的军事基地,既是太平洋舰队的总部又是带有四个独特景点的国家历史地标。从珍珠港偷袭开始,到日本代表在密苏里号战舰甲板上签署投降协议,这些历史遗址共同诉说了太平洋战争的故事,纪念了上一代的成就。

珍珠港坐落在位于日本和美國本土之间的“汇聚之地”的欧胡岛上,它永远是一个深受欢迎之地,幸存者们在此回忆袭击事件的历史和事件给整整一代人的生活所带来的巨大影响。

对于那些参加过战争,那些生活受到过战争摧残的人们,以及他们世世代代的子孙而言,珍珠港是一个让来自世界各地的人们和平地走到一起,纪念战争阵亡者和庆祝人类精神最终胜利的地方。

About Pearl Harbor

Discover for yourself what Pearl Harbor means to you.

Called Pu'uloa, meaning "long hill," or Wai Momi, literally, "water of pearl," by early Hawaiians, Pearl Harbor, so named because of the abundance of pearls once found within its protected waters, is the largest natural harbor in the State of Hawaii and the number one visitor destination on Oahu.

Today, Pearl Harbor remains an active military base, Headquarters of the Pacific Fleet, and a National Historic Landmark that's home to four unique attractions: from the surprise attack on Pearl Harbor that started it all, to the surrender of the Japanese on the deck of the mighty Battleship Missouri, these four historic sites together tell the story of the War in the Pacific, commemorating the accomplishments of a previous generation.

Located on the island of Oahu, "The Gathering Place," halfway between Japan and the mainland United States, Pearl Harbor will always be a welcoming place where survivors of the attack can reflect on the events which led to the war and which had such a profound impact on the lives of an entire generation.

To those who fought in the war, to those whose lives were affected by the war, their children, grandchildren, and each succeeding generation, Pearl Harbor is a place where people from far-flung corners of the world can come together in peace to honor the memory of the fallen and to celebrate the ultimate triumph of the human spirit.